14 March 2022

The first Final of the Freeride World Tour 2022 is over!

Results of Freeride World Tour 2022 Fieberbrunn, Austria are in! 

Two-run format implemented for the first time in Freeride World Tour history; the race for world title grows more intense with only one event remaining…

Stop #4 of the 2022 Freeride World Tour was completed on Monday in Fieberbrunn, Austria. As the second-to-last event of the season, the pressure was higher than ever as the riders fought to lock in results in the race for the world title. While Fieberbrunn has been a mainstay destination for the Freeride World Tour nearly since the tour’s inception, playing host to an event every year since 2009, today the organizers have celebrated the renewal of the contract with Bergbahnen Fieberbrunn for the next 5 years!

The New Best-of-Two Runs Format

History was also made today at the FWT as the event featured a multiple-run format, with riders each taking two runs, and only the best of their two runs counting towards the final result. Combined with challenging conditions on the intimidating Wildseeloder venue, the stage was set for an intense day of competition that featured huge crashes and unforgettable podium runs.

Ski Women

The competition began with Ski Women. The two-run format required a very early start, and the snow was a challenging mix of sugar and ice during the early hours of the day. But that didn’t cause category winner Jess Hotter (NZL) to hold back, as she delivered an incredible first run with huge drops and technical skiing. Hedvig Wessel (NOR) improved on her first run with an aggressive second run that earned her 2nd place. In 3rd was 2021 World Champion Elisabeth Gerritzen (SUI)

I took a really heavy crash on my second run, but luckily my first run was good enough to win the event. I’m stoked for the win, but I still have unfinished business on the Wildseeloder and am already looking forward to coming back next year. 

Jess Hotter

Ski Men

The Ski Men category followed, and for the second time of the 2022 season, an event wildcard took the victory. Max Hitzig (AUT) won the day with a creative run featuring two 360s and a massive backflip. Hitzig also gained qualification to FWT 2023 with his recent results in the Freeride World Qualifier Finals, and will clearly be a force in the future. In 2nd place was Carl Regnér Eriksson (SWE), who was followed in 3rd place by Leo Slemmet (FRA)

It’s really cool to be here, it’s a really nice area and the venue was perfect today. Two weeks ago I was nowhere, and now I’m on top of an FWT podium in Fieberbrunn. At the moment it feels unreal!

Max Hitzig

Snow Men

In Snowboard Men, the top riders relied heavily on the two-run format. Blake Moller (USA) won the event, bouncing back after a crash in his first run with a fluid second run that featured two large cliff drops and a high-speed 360. In 2nd place, Cody Bramwell (GBR) also used his second run to jump up in the rankings. Ludovic Guillot-Diat (FRA) took third place. 

I felt the most out of control I’ve ever felt in my life on my first run, so it felt really good to land my second run! I rode as fast as possible at the top, found a different air in the middle, and then added final air I was inspired to hit by Camille Armand.

Blake Moller

Snow Women

Snowboard Women were the last riders of the day. Tiphanie Perrotin (FRA) took the top spot with solid technical riding down an extremely steep gully on the rider’s left edge of the venue, followed by multiple airs in the bottom half of the face. Following Perrotin was current tour leader Erika Vikander (USA) and Manuela Mandl (AUT)

I’m really happy with my result today. I’m really inspired by this venue, and it motivated me to ride my best. I feel super happy and am looking forward to Verbier. 

Tiphanie Perrotin

Riders now have a nearly two-week break to rest and prepare before the final event of FWT 2022—the legendary Xtreme Verbier (26 March - 3 April). Stay tuned to for fresh content, behind-the-scenes coverage as well as live-broadcasts from the ongoing Freeride World Qualifier Finals.