FWT22 Grand Final Confirmed in Verbier, Switzerland | Freeride World Tour

FWT22 Grand Final Confirmed in Verbier, Switzerland

The Grand Finale of this season is confirmed for this Saturday, the 26th of March. Here, Future World Champions will be determined.

The last FWT Final is confirmed for Saturday the 26th of March and will take place on legendary Bec Des Rosses. The starting order for the Xtreme is as follows; Snow women will be the first category to drop in, followed by snow men, ski women, and finally ski men. 

The event is set to start at 9.15 Am CET. Check your local time and make sure that you do not miss a single minute of action: 

  • 9.15 AM CET - Geneva
  • 2.15 AM MDT - Calgary
  • 5.15 PM JST - Tokyo
  • 9.15 PM NZDT - Auckland

 

The Snow Conditions

Despite a lack of snowfall in Europe this season, and the Sahara sand particles that engrossed Europe over the last few days; sufficient snow coverage remains on the Bec. Overall, everything is looking extremely positive for Saturday’s competition. Athletes will get to encounter, and play with the vertical drops, and the labyrinth of technical terrain this weekend that the face provides.

Snow conditions are surprisingly good on Bec des Rosses and Saturday will be a perfect bluebird day.

— Nicolas Hale-Woods

It promises to be a teeth-grinding, and knuckle gripping show as the FWT Finals ranking points have greater value than the first initial events (to be precise by a factor of 1.25x). Everything is to be played for on Saturday; athletes who were trailing behind in the rankings could snatch the World Champion title from current leaders.

Check out the current FWT Overall Rankings

The FWT Final Riders will be joined by a talented pool of highly experienced wildcard athletes such as  Reine Barkered (SWE) the explosive Spanish skier Aymar Navarro (ESP) who also fell below the cut, and finally two-time World Champion Victor De Le Rue (FRA). 

 

The Event Village is back in Verbier!

As in previous years, there will be an Event Village in the center of Verbier from Friday at 12pm till 8pm on Sunday night. The opportunities are endless for entertainment as plenty of activities are occurring. 

Check out the official program of the 2022 Xtreme Verbier.

The Xtreme Verbier Village

The FunBet is back for a final event this season! This is a great way to get involved if you are unable to make the event. The Fun Bet is a virtual, online platform where you can play against FWT fans around the world in betting on which athletes will win each stop of the FWT22. The platform is free to use and free to play! 

The live event broadcast for Saturday’s competition will be available at www.freerideworldtour.comIt is expected to begin at 9:15 am local time. To keep up to date with the best actions, event updates, and exclusive behind the scene content make sure to follow FWT social media channels.